Bird by the Outlet

So yesterday morning I was woken up to the sound of “scratching” in what we thought at first was the attic. I actually pin-pointed it to a wall in the kitchen, but Jon didn’t believe me, and since it was his birthday we moved on with our lives. Fast forward to this morning, and then JON was woken up to the sound. I went into the kitchen to fix the pug’s breakfast, only to discover the faceplate to the outlet moving every time the scratching sound happened. I just said screw it, crossed my fingers it wasn’t a squirrel that would start an electrical fire or bite me with rabies, and opened up the faceplate.
Oh HAI bird!
There was a HUGE bird in there. Poking it’s poor little beak out around the electrical outlet box. IN the wall, completely trapped somehow. My peeps on Facebook helped us identify the bird as a Starling, and man was it dumb! At first I opened up the wall as large as the faceplate would cover, but since the outlet box is pretty old, it didn’t have any slack on the wiring to move it out of the way. I carefully sawed at the opening a little more and propped the outlet to the side with a chop stick, but still, the bird would try to push itself out upside-down, not getting any headway at all.
saw!
bird head
I could tell it was exhausted, so before I tried to cut anymore, I took an eye dropper and gave it some water. At first I had to sneak some drops to the side of it’s beak, but then when it realized I was re-hydrating it, it opened up it’s mouth like a baby bird and drank as much as I could give it.

What were the pugs doing during all this, nothing really, just wondering why I had the back door open, or why I was in the kitchen so much without doing anything involving food.

So finally I got Jon to sympathize with the poor bird, and let me saw the hole even wider. He grabbed a bag made out of netting and the bird slipped right out. Catch and Release!
more saw!
lemme out!OUT!
release!
We’ve already got a drywall patch and mud compound drying, as well as all the dents and holes in the house patched up since we had the stuff out. Nothing like saving a bird’s life to motivate a little fix-its on your home… I guess. That was my day. Oh, and tornado watches for the entire evening. Poor bird might have been safer in the wall instead of out in this weather!

One comment on “Bird by the Outlet

  1. Starlings are an invasive species, brought over from Europe. They are a real nuisance, though I’ve not heard of them getting into walls before.

Leave a Reply

