Predators film review

This blog isn’t very science fiction-y yet, so I thought I’d post up my “Predators” film review written circa July 2010:

This isn’t going to happen how you expect…

I consider myself a huge Predator fan. I’m not a fan so much of the Predator itself, but definitely one of the original film. As a science fiction action film, it set the standard for combining hokey with believability. A collection of great characters put up against an alien that lives and breathes killing as much as they do.

I’m personally more of an Alien fan. So when the AVP film series started, I had all my hopes of extending the character and shelf life of the franchise shot down by failed attempts at putting Alien and Predator “culture” into modern teenage audience context. My hopes never really came back to me. Why should I care that the Predators kill innocent normal people? Why would they care. Even Predator 2, through all it’s faults, clearly explained that Predators hunted humans to killed other humans. They didn’t know what side they were on, just that they killed.

Then the announcement of a direct sequel to the Predator film series by director Robert Rodriguez came. Came and went in my opinion, I was so jaded by disappointment in sequels and “reboots” of classic franchises, that I didn’t even think the wonderfully talented director of Sin City couldn’t even help the state of things. So I threw any hope of excitement out the window.

Then came the reviews by others. NOBODY likes this movie. If anybody does, they’re not being very vocal about it. Everyone seems so disappointed, even going as far as to saying the first Alien vs. Predator film was actually better than this.

But I LOVED this movie. I watch the original Predator film at least every 6 months, and could quote it by heart. Most of the other reviews out here say Predators is just a copy of that original. NOT SO. It takes elements from all the incarnations of the creatures: films, comics, books, and rolls makes them into a fun romp in the action genre.

Leave a Reply

