Fantasy Novel Writing

Years ago I was accepted into a creative writing magnet high school. I enjoyed every second of it, felt like I learned a lot, but mostly walked away thinking it’d never be worth publishing because writing is so hard to make a successful full time job.

Flash forward to now and I have dozens of manuscripts, outlines, and character maps laid out that are only collecting dust. Then the other day I pulled one out that is 10 years old and just started typing.

It’s a fantasy epic that has half a dozen main characters, languages, cultures and a few sub plots to supplement the big picture. In two days I’ve written 5000 words and edited 4000 of them. Apparently my worries of picking back up the creative spark were unfounded. I wanted my first officially finished book to be a science fiction, but this one is coming out a little quicker then I expected so I’m not going to complain.

So in addition to sewing, burlesque, online sales, and pug care-giving, I am now writing again to hopefully publish. *raises glass* Here’s to motivation and preservation!

Leave a Reply

